top of page

"Hacking Democracy"...When we push that button at the poll, it's suppose to mean somet


I just finished watching "Hacking Democracy" and to call it "surreal" doesn't cut it. I'm sitting here crying. :*(

I've been voting since I was 18, 37 years, and I feel so VIOLATED! This is the 1% raping America! I'm crying for myself, my County and for my country. There is one woman who cried at the results of the final test "election" near the end of the documentary. I don't think it had sunk in yet but I think that, though she couldn't put it into words at the time of the filming, I think that she was crying like that because she was feeling violated, too. This is those uber-rich white men in suits at Diebold and all their greedy "bought and paid for" Wall Street politicians, on both sides of the aisle, and the ones who fund them (Koch brothers, et al), raping America, raping Lady Liberty!

I can't seem to stop crying, for all of us who believed, all our lives, that when we pushed that button at the polls it actually meant that our vote-voices were being heard, that, in the simple act of participating in our democracy, we are somebody, that we are important, that we *matter.*

Well, I refuse to let any rapists walk away from the crime smiling and laughing at their prowess and success of overpowering their victims, not even those of the 1% patting themselves on their backs behind their closed doors.

The County buys and controls our polling machines. As a candidate for Monmouth County Freeholder, I thought I was already resolved to win before, for the good of the people, for the good of Monmouth County; seeing this, knowing what I know now, has galvanized that resolve into steadfast determination, and the top issue on my agenda now, coming into the NJ primary, will be keeping an eagle eye on the county election process and heading any necessary investigation if there be any signs of impropriety.

I don't ever want to feel this way again about the sanctity of OUR votes and I don't want any of my constituents, regardless of demographic or affiliation, feeling this way either.

This isn't about Democrat or Republican.

It's not about any particular party affiliation or no party affiliation at all.

This is about #NoMore‎HackingDemocracy‬!

Watch "Hacking Democracy"

(2006) Directors: Simon Ardizzone, Russell Michaels

"Hacking Democracy" on IMDB

Copyright Disclaimer: No copyright infringement is intended. Material appearing in this post is distributed without profit or monetary gain to those who have expressed an interest in viewing the material for research and/or educational purposes. This is in accordance with Title 17 U. S. C. section 107. Credit is given to authors/producers where known, links provided where required, and Terms of Use followed where applicable. Reprinted under the Fair Use doctrine of international copyright law.

http://www4.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.html Non-profit/Teaching/Educational


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page